Tangling with temptation

For some time now, I’ve been fascinated with the examples of Zentangle art forms I’ve seen around.  While incredibly intricate, they’re simple enough to be done by almost anyone, anywhere.  And while they were developed as a form of secular mindfulness meditation (despite the “Zen” tag, to my knowledge they have no formal link to any religious practice), I’ve wondered whether the practice could be adapted as a specifically Christian form of meditation (perhaps integrating some of the principles of Sybil MacBeth’s work on Praying in Color).

So, since my discipline this Lent was to be working on developing my creative and intuitive responses to God (rather than analytical and intellectual, which have been my stronger side for a long time), I decided to attempt something of the sort.

This is my first attempt; a meditation on the temptation of Christ in the wilderness.  I make no claim that it has significant artistic merit, (or indeed technical precision; I last took an art class when I was thirteen, and have neglected those skills since), but I definitely found that taking the time to reflect on the Scripture, choose and develop the patterns and the relationships between them, and make wider connections of meaning, was something I found helped me to better engage with the Scripture at depth and come to new insight (both into the Scripture and my own response to it).

I could tell you about all the things that came to mind while I was drawing, but that might take the fun out of it.  What do you see, and what does it evoke for you?

img006

Leave a Reply

